Home / Student Life / Student Clubs

Student Clubs

Welcome to OC's Club Page

Joining a club can make your college life brilliant and fun

Some benfits of being a club member include:

  • Developing your talent
  • Improving your social skills
  • Having a chance to be a leader
  • Make new friends

Do you want to start or join in a new club?

Contact Club Advisor or President via their email below. Feel free to stop by the Student Government Office in BSC 118 for help with getting started. Student Government of Olympic College (SGOC) is here for you!

2016-2017 CLUBS

PURPOSE

The purpose of this club shall be:

1. To educate Students, Faculty and the community about the contributions African Americans have made in building this great nation known as the the United States of America and in the Caribbean
2. To encourage people from all backgrounds to cultivate more of a knowledge and appreciation of African American and Caribbean contributions, history and culture
3. To create a platform where we can bring together all races and ethnic backgrounds to a deeper undersanding of the African American and Caribbean people.
4. To express Ideas on how to engage and come together as Americans.
5. Through public forums, engagements, meetings and events we want to illustrate all the accomplishments African American and Caribbean people have done and still are doing, not just through song and dance, but tangible contributions through math, science, and astrology. We want to facilitate an understanding of the ways and thinking of those descendants of the African Nations and how Americans is what is because of all nations of te world and not specific ones.

President: Drayton Jackson draytonjackson@student.olympic.edu
Advisor: Pauline Carlton pcarlton@olympic.edu

PURPOSE

The Chess Club of Olympic College exists to spread the knowledge of chess as well as promote both competitive and recreational play at all levels

President: Tim Jones timothyjones@student.olympic.edu
Advisor: Linnea Hess lhess@olympic.edu

PURPOSE
The purpose of the Clay Club is to expand the experience and artistic opportunities of the O.C. Ceramics students, Olympic College community and alumni, and clay lovers from the surrounding area to generate income for club activities; and increase visibility of the college program.

President: Karen Mittet karenmittet@student.olympic.edu
Advisor: Marie Weichman  mweichman@olympic.edu
Meeting: First Friday of the month, 12 PM ART 134 
Open studio: Monday and Wednesday 6-9 PM Art 134

PURPOSE
We exist to provide a means for students to explore electronics theory and application. Our hope is to provide a safe, supportive and entertaining environment for both hobbyists and profesionals alike.

President: Ethan Newhouse ethannewhouse@student.olympic.edu
Advisor: Craig Seybold cseybold@olympic.edu
Meeting: Tuesdays 1 PM TEC 114 

PURPOSE
The Engineering club exists for students to develop professional skills by working together to acheive educational and club goals, establish connections, and share knowledge. 

President: Will McDonald  williammcdonald@student.olympic.du
Advisor: Goker Tuncol   gtuncol@olympic.edu
Meeting: Wednesdays ST 149 @ 3:30 PM

PURPOSE
The purpose of filme club is to produce compelling and origional digital film content and media while helping students leand and develop artistically and socially in a collaborative, productive, professional filmmaking environment; utilizing a broad range of disciplines and mediums for beginners and experienced filmmakers alike, creating an inclusive community of close-knit content producers and educated student filmmakers with the resources to advance in the industry and becoming successful in their career ambitions. 

President: Eric Mattos ericmattos2@student.olympic.edu
Advisor: Timothy Hagan thagan@olympic.edu
Meeting: OC Media Studio Fridays, 4 PM

PURPOSE

The International Club exists to encourage new relationships between OC students regardless of where they come from. The goal of this club is to give international students the opportunity to interact with other students, share their culture as well as introduce their traditions with other students. The club members enjoy multiple events, traditional activities and fun educational trips. Our unltimate mission is to welcome international students and support them in their cultural and educational transition to the college.

 

PURPOSE
Students helping students to suceed in their achedemic and career goals through mutual support and guiding hands.


President: LeighAnn Fogerty leighannfogerty@student.olympic.edu
Advisor: Kathy Bright kbright@olympic.edu

PURPOSE

The Student Veteran Association pledges to enhance the lives of our military-connected students through serving our community, creating a supportive culture, and ensuring success in Higher Education, Employment and Wellness.


President: Bryn Mulligan http://byronmulligan@student.olympic.edu
Advisor:Casey Reed creed@olympic.edu
            Heather Hutchins hhutchins@olympic.edu

Meetings: Monday 3:15 PM  Engineering Room 114