Home / Programs & Classes / Distance Learning / Notice to Students Living Out of State

Notice to Students Living Out of State

Distance Learning

Federal Policy and state law require that all colleges in the U.S. must be authorized in every state where they wish to offer instruction.  However, some states impose exorbitant fees or have administratively-prohibitive requirements to obtain this authorization.

We regret that at this time, we cannot accept students who are or will be living in one of the states or territories listed below, at the time they plan on attending Olympic College. 

States:  Alabama, Maryland and Utah.

Territories:  American Samoa, Guam, N. Marianas, Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands.

We can accept distance learning students from all other states or territories not listed above.

Some states may have restrictions on programs that include internships, externships, clinicals and practicums.  If your program requires any of these and you plan to complete the requirement in any other state except Washington state please contact the eLearning office at 360-475-7770 or distancelearning@Olympic.edu for more information.

State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA):  Olympic College is a member of the SARA.  SARA is a nationwide initiative of states that make eLearning courses more accessible to students across state lines.  It also makes it easier to regulate and for institutions to participate in interstate eLearning education.