1950-52 Track & Field Teams | 2018 Inductee

Home / Athletics / 1950-52 Track & Field Teams | 2018 Inductee


Today's Date is Tuesday, December, 10, 2019
No Upcoming Games Scheduled

Olympic College Track & Field dominated in the early 50’s, winning three Washington State Junior College Championships in a row from 1950-1952.  

In 1950, 2017 inductee Pete Dufour helped lead the Rangers to the conference championship by breaking the records he set in ’49 in the 220 and 440 yard races, with times of 22.4 and 49.8 seconds respectively.  In the mile relay, Dufour and teammates Pete Shepherd, Jack Culver, and Don Wilson combined to win that event and tie the meet record.  OC beat Everett for the team title 31-24.  

In 1951, the Rangers had three athletes win multiple events to take the team title over Grays Harbor 43-38. 2018 Inductee Dick McKimson won the 880 along with running a leg of the winning mile relay team.  His teammates on the relay were Hank Pomerenk, Vern Robinson, and Dale Thomburgh.    Robinson also won the mile and 2-mile event while Thomburgh won the 220 and the 220 low hurdles.  

The 1952 State Championship was a special meet for OC.  The team won 10 of 15 events to score 77 points. a state record that would last 12 years.  McKimson scored 17 of those points by winning the 100, the 880, the javelin, and as a member of the winning mile relay team.  He also took 4thin the pole vault, an event he had competed in just once prior.  

The mile relay also included Robinson, Don McCandless, and Dave Moose.  Robinson repeated as the 2-mile champion but was topped by teammate Kenny Way for the 220 low hurdle championship.  Way also won the 220 and the broad jump events.   Richard Pargeter won the mile race and Paul Port tied for the championship in the pole vault.